Skip to content

A Look at The Kharadron Overlords FAQ

So earlier today Jay posted about the two new FAQs that landed today for Age of Sigmar. These were focused on the last two battletomes to be released, the Kharadron Overlords and the Disciples of Tzeentch.

Now, I’m currently all about the Overlords and am hoping to have 2,000 points painted in the next couple of weeks. I’ve had my head in the Battletome since its release, and it was easy to pick up on a few rules which needed clarification.

I opened the link to the FAQ with a little trepidation. Whilst I love the rate the Battletomes are coming out, their have been some that have been hit fairly quickly with rule changes in FAQs based on the reaction of the competitive scene within the first few weeks of the books release.

Whilst I have only had a small game so far with the book, I couldn’t see anything that could be deemed as over-powered, however other people may have been taking advantage of some of the new warscrolls. The Fly High rule is very powerful, as well as the Aether Gold mechanic.

The good news is that the FAQ does not change of the rules within the book. Hurray!

So what has been clarified in this FAQ?

Garrisoned Units

One of the biggest changes to the new Overlords Battletome has been the way airships work as transports. Units now ‘garrison‘ inside, instead of simply embarking.

Garrisoning allows units within the ship to shoot and attack outside of the ship, like the open-topped rule in Warhammer 40,000. As a rule in Age of Sigmar, garrisons hasn’t really had much focus. It went without saying that throwing the rule into the limelight was going to throw up a few rules queries.

The FAQ does a great job in clarfying those queries:

  • Models shooting and attacking out of the ships measure the distances from the Skyvessel itself
  • If a Kharadron ship ‘Flies High’ out of a combat this does not count as a retreat for either the ship or the garrisoned units, allowing both to shoot in the following shooting phase.
  • Endrinriggers/Sky Wardens/Endrinmasters that ‘hitch‘ a ride on a ship also don’t count as retreating out of combat
  • If you choose to disembark from a ship whilst said ship is in combat, the unit disembarking must end the movement outside of 3″ of enemy models and within (but not wholly within) 6″ of the Skyvessel

Deployment Phase and Garrisons

Another major query was when it came to setup. Previously, when deploying units at the start of the game the old book allowed you to embark troops during setup, meaning you had fewer drops. This is no longer the case, as units that you want to garrison take up a drop. After deploying a ship simply ‘deploy’ the unit garrisoned onto the ship.

Look Out Sir!

Another rule talking point was characters embarked on ships. Any unit or characters garrisoned can still be targeted by attacking units, either with shooting or close combat attacks, but are -1 to hit and +1 to saves. But what about the Look Out Sir! rule?

Turns out, it still works! That makes your characters -2 to hit. Fantastic!

Using the ‘Spell in a Bottle’

One final major point involved the awesome artefact ‘Spell in a Bottle‘ This artefact can only be given to an Aether-Khemist and acts like a PokeBall but for Endless Spells. The way the rule was written could be read as being able to be used in any phase.

This isn’t the case however, and the FAQ confirms that it can only be used in your hero phase.

All and all its a great FAQ, and really does iron out a few rules queries. I really like the new Battletome, and I cannot wait to give it a full run out on the battlefield.

You can read the full FAQ at this link.

We took an in-depth look at the Kharadron Overlords Battletome on an episode of a podcast, which you can listen to below:

What do you think of the latest FAQ? Let us know via social media or in the comments below.

2 Comments »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: